marvels


About crayonsencore

I am teaching myself how to do illustrations for the stories that I want to tell. I started blogging in 2004, using crayons. I then moved to colored pencils, and now am experimenting with watercolors.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to marvels

  1. Laura says:

    What a great character…and story! The drawing of the aerialists is wonderful.

  2. Lisa says:

    Caroline, this makes my day! What a wonderful illustration! I remember hearing about this encounter, but seeing it come alive in your drawings is amazing! I love the way you have captured each and everyone’s expressions – be it the barrista’s enthusiasm, or the frustration on the faces of the customers. Your talent to give your characters distinct personalities is something I really admire about your illustrations. Lovely work!

  3. Balisha says:

    Lisa’s words were just the thing that I was thinking, but couldn’t find the words. You have a way of capturing people’s moods and expressions in your painting. Loved the ending with you as the aerialist. Balisha

  4. Leila says:

    Caroline, you have a gift for capturing the magic in the quotidian.

  5. tz.missjane says:

    I will have to echo what Lisa wrote. The facial expression were spot-on and I loved the barrista dancing with a lemon. (Also the cat in the window in the first frame.)

  6. sue says:

    Wow!! I just love each and every drawing.

  7. Marianne says:

    After seeing the sneak preview of the unfinished panels it’s a treat to see them all colored in. The barista’s body language is relentlessly cheerful and YES you capture the grumpy faces of the customers so well. Plus I love the outfits especially the green Crocs!

  8. tz.missjane says:

    I’ve come back to see the cup of coffee. Isn’t that funny? But I love what you do here with your drawings and colorings.

  9. Maya Matthew says:

    Wonderful story. Imagine dancing in n Oak tree! that would be a performance I would love to watch.

  10. Puddock says:

    Love the fact that you asked her the question – most people would just have fumed but your question turned a frustration into a little episode of joy – well done!

  11. Cate says:

    Loved this one – and incompetence CAN mask marvels!

  12. Yes, behind the putzy barrista might be a graceful dancer frolicking high up in the green branches with an oak-leaf fillet around her head; behind the grumpy customer might be a sensitive artist who sees the incident in its true colors…which she’ll reproduce. Well-done, Caroline.

  13. The expression on the faces of those customers waiting in the line are just spot on… And the aerialists, your drawings have captured the grace and fluidity of their routines… And it was great to see you being one of them… :)

Leave a Reply

