Mt. Horeb

About crayonsencore

I am teaching myself how to do illustrations for the stories that I want to tell. I started blogging in 2004, using crayons. I then moved to colored pencils, and now am experimenting with watercolors.
This entry was posted in Story. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Mt. Horeb

  1. Lisa says:

    This is beautiful!

  2. Ted M says:

    In addition to your wonderful art, I love your storytelling voice.

    Process question: When you draw street scenes set in real places (Mt Horeb, downtown Madison, et al), do you make a reference sketch on the spot? Use a camera? Draw from memory? Other?

    • Hi Ted
      Thanks for your kind comment. When I draw backgrounds I usually do them from my memory/imagination, so they end up being quite cartoonish. I’ve never used a camera, but it’s a good idea. In the case of downtown Mt. Horeb, I just couldn’t make it look historic, and the perspective wasn’t right, so I resorted to the Internet for a photo. I

  3. Michael L. says:

    I really like this story (and the earlier one with the apples). And I like the way you put the fabric in. It’s like the art version of breaking the fourth wall.

  4. wOoP for mexican hot choc!
    ^_*

  5. Deborah Carr says:

    This is very cool…my niece just brought me back a Pashmina scarf from her tour of duty in Afghanistan, which I was utterly thrilled with. I’d never heard of them before and had to Google the term. Now, here you are.

  6. Marianne says:

    The only thing I don’t like about this post is that it makes me really homesick!

Leave a Reply

