Goldfish

About crayonsencore

I am teaching myself how to do illustrations for the stories that I want to tell. I started blogging in 2004, using crayons. I then moved to colored pencils, and now am experimenting with watercolors.
This entry was posted in Story. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Goldfish

  1. ana says:

    What a wonderful image, goldfish crackers. You have prompted some reflection here. Where are they ?What are they?

    Just such a charming story.

  2. Marianne says:

    As always, you leave me with a smile. Oh oh oh…. You know I love the story out of family legends and now we have a record of it. Wonderful! Your drawings are becoming more nuanced….the way the wind blows and everyone’s hair and the woman’s skirt is messed up. Very clever. And a sweet wink at the end when you have the same shirt on as the boy. And I can only imagine how much time it took to create the long line of people different clothes, bodies, expressions, etc. This is marvelous Caroline!

  3. sue says:

    i love all the details you add to your drawings. wow!

  4. Lisa says:

    Caroline, these drawings are outstanding! Like Marianne, I really enjoyed the nuances – it makes your drawings so authentic (e.g. the people in line – you captured the liveliness of the crowd and created unique characters – I love it!).
    Certainly, I’m not the only one who would have loved to peek over your shoulder while you were drawing this. I admire your patience and attention to detail!

  5. Hi Lisa
    Thank you for that kind description of my drawings. This one was really hard for me, so I’m glad you liked the story and drawings. I worried that it wouldn’t hold up.

  6. Celeste Maia says:

    Your watercolors have the same fresh and spontaneous look of your crayons drawings. They are wonderful. I came here by chance and I am so glad to have “re-discovered” you. I left you a long message in the last entry of your previous blog. Have no idea if it was received.
    Will come back to enjoy your stories and drawings. They are truly great!
    Celeste

    • Hi Celeste! It’s so nice to hear from you. What a surprise. I hope I’ll be able to find you blogspot via this message. Thanks for noticing my switch to watercolor. It’s both scary and exciting. I think I did receive your message. It was several months ago.

  7. lila says:

    Love finding you again! You are doing watercolors now!!! Have fun! (I know you are!)

  8. Your story had me paused and I pondered for a while… 🙂
    Thanks for sharing this story Caroline…

    I like the tail part of the whale in the very first sketch… And I can see that there are two types of whales here I think… The sperm whale and the other I guess is similar to the blue whale (due to the striations in its chest)… Lovely drawings as always… 🙂

    • Hi Coolwaterworks

      I was thinking about you the other day, wondering if you had written another beautiful post yet. Now I’m wondering if you guys eat goldfish crackers or if they are entirely an American thing.

      • I have seen it being sold here in one major store… But I haven’t tried it yet… 😀 Will try one of these days… 🙂

        The other types are more popular, specially the local ones…

  9. Lana says:

    Very sweet. Hang in there with the watercolors–they’re a wonderful medium!

Leave a Reply

