Honk

About crayonsencore

I am teaching myself how to do illustrations for the stories that I want to tell. I started blogging in 2004, using crayons. I then moved to colored pencils, and now am experimenting with watercolors.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Honk

  1. Elaine Fine says:

    What an interesting turn to your story! The collective angry feelings just melt.

  2. tz.missjane says:

    I loved that you closed with the exterior of your building–Miss Monkey, still at the window; the sparrows, still fluttering on the rooftop–all is well.
    The little details really make this. Loved the bright colors and the facial expressions–especially the kid in the car! He looks as annoyed as anyone could have been in this scenario.

    • Wow Miss Jane,
      That was such a complete and positive reading of the story. You’re right about my choice of the final panel. I’m learning more and more about storytelling. Thanks for your thoughts.

  3. Balisha says:

    Loved all the little details…especially your bare piggies.
    Balisha

  4. ellen kelley says:

    Oh, this makes me very happy. What a good start to a new week.
    I love all of the details too. I see the smile on your face as you clean up the breakfast dishes while kitty cleans up as well.

  5. Perdrix says:

    a perfectly lively color selection for the arrival of summer. love the leaves of the trees! the kitty with the paw to the mouth was a nice touch. fabulous!

    • Hey Perdrix
      Thanks for the comment. I hadn’t even notice the color scheme! I guess it was my unconscious that saw the need for summer. The detail is coming along, I guess. Sorry it took so long to approve your comment. I’m sometimes not sure what to open or where to go to find the comments.

  6. Lisa says:

    Caroline, what a beautiful and fun illustration! Again, your attention to detail is amazing! Ms Monkey and the birds that can be see from the street, the steaming coffee, the expressions on people’s faces – it just makes for so much charm and character! It’s a joy to discover so much in each and every picture.

    • Hi Lisa,
      Thanks for noticing the detail. It was actually more than I bargained for. The painting seemed to take forever. I’m really glad you enjoyed reading and viewing it. That makes me happy.

  7. Lana says:

    How refreshing. 🙂 Wonderful post!

  8. sue says:

    Yay!!! I love a happy ending 🙂

  9. Anne says:

    I’m a believer that if someone does a random act of kindness for you, that your way of repaying that person is by doing one for someone else. I hope the lady who got her purse back did so.

    Thank you again for giving us a glimpse into your life!

  10. Kristin Clausen says:

    I am really appreciating your developing water color skill on this one. I remember a while back someone was saying that they like the watercolor better than the former crayons and I think I agree. I also love all the pale yellow and the general lightness of the color scheme.

  11. Cate says:

    Oh what a lovely scenario – the day begins with breakfast and a cat at the window (one of my favorite mental images ever), then honking outside, yelling and anger. The situation resolves with the handbag returned gracefully and gratitude. Then the melts away like mist and the scene moves back to Miss Cat in the window. All of it is worked in lively strokes and luscious colors. Bravo!!!

  12. Dave Benforado says:

    Love the story! Yeah for good deeds!

  13. Marianne says:

    How did I miss this one?? So glad to play catch up. The thing that strikes me most in this post is your use of color. Splashes of color in unexpected places. And the story is such a good reminder. As always, thank you for brightening my day.

Leave a Reply

